Oldham County Board of Trustees

The Oldham County Public Library District is governed by a board of five trustees approved by the Fiscal Court of Oldham County. Efforts are made to have at least one trustee from each of the communities served by an Oldham County Branch Library. Board meetings are held on the second Thursday of each month at the Main Library, 308 Yager Avenue, in LaGrange; check our board meeting schedule to see when the next meeting will be held. Regular board meetings begin at 6:30 pm and are open to the public.

Become a board member

The Oldham County Library Board of Trustees is composed of five members who act cooperatively to provide oversight of the operations of the Library including finances, policies, employment of the Library Director, and continuing development of the Library program. Due to expiring term, two new Board members are needed to assume their roles on October 1, 2015.  Members serve four year terms and may serve one additional consecutive term.

JOB TITLE: Member, Board of Trustees

LOCATION: Library Boards are required by law to maintain a geographical representation of the county. In keeping with that requirement, the Board is seeking members to represent the Goshen and Crestwood areas.

SCHEDULE: Generally a maximum of four hours per month including one monthly meeting, continuing education opportunities, and visiting Library branches/staff.

DUTIES: Job description attached. The Oldham County Public Library employs approximately 45 full and part time personnel working in three branch locations. The Library has an operational budget of approximately $2.5 million derived primarily from local property taxes.

QUALIFICATIONS: In addition to the geographical requirement, the Board seeks to develop an array of talented members with complementary skills. All candidates will, however, be considered.

COMPENSATION: None. Board members are reimbursed for expenses such as travel or conferences incurred in their official capacity only.

CLOSING DATE: Application form is available online and at the Circulation Desk at each branch. Applications will be accepted until July 1, 2015.

TO APPLY: Mail application, cover letter and resume to:


Oldham County Public Library
Susan Eubank, Director
ATTN: Board Selection Committee
308 Yager Avenue
LaGrange, KY 40031
FAX: (502) 222-1141

Trustees for 2014-2015

Sallie Haynes, President

Pewee Valley, 2nd term expires 9-30-2015

Fred C. Tolsdorf, Vice President

Crestwood, 2nd term expires 9-30-2016

Lonnie Hardin, Secretary

LaGrange, 2nd term expires 9-30-2015

Anne T. Murner, Treasurer

Prospect, 2nd term expires 9-30-2015

Virginia Snell,
Member, LaGrange
1st term expires 9-30-2017

M. Susan Eubank, Library Director


2014 Meeting Schedule

The Oldham County Public Library Board of Trustees meets the second Thursday of every month. Meetings are held in the Board Room of the Main Library, 308 Yager Avenue in LaGrange. The meetings start at 6:30 pm. All meetings are open to the public.

If you wish to address the Board at a meeting please call the Director at 502-222-9713, extension 304, one week in advance of the meeting. If you would like to be notified of a Special Called Meeting or a meeting change in the schedule, please send your e-mail address or telephone number to the Library Director at 502-222-9713, extension 304.

October 10, 2014 November 13, 2014 December 11, 2014
January 8th, 2015 February 12, 2015 March 12, 2015
April 9th, 2015 May 14th, 2015 June 11th, 2015
July 9th, 2015 August 13th, 2015 September 10th, 2015